Volume 3: Nov & Dec 2014

Interview with Findano Shikonda

ARTWOLFE: Can you tell us about your inspiration for the winning work ‘Absent Fathers’?

Findano: I was favourably raised by both my parents. At my village however, 85% of homesteads are manned by women. I seldom see those men. Are they rural-urban migrant workers? Did they re-marry? Are they dead? These are the questions I want to ask every time I walk past those houses. It is a concept that perplexes me. There is a saying though that goes: “Don’t criticize what you can’t understand”, so I decided to paint “Absent Fathers’” as a tribute to those single mums. The message is also to dads that are present to raise their kids – “Thank you for your strength, your guidance and your support. We love you.”

ARTWOLFE: What brought you to making art – when and why did you take up painting?

Findano: I took up painting because it is the one thing I can do well. I started making art at the age of 8 when I got my first box of crayons from my father. My late art teacher Mrs Reiff from Oranjemund Private School believed in my art. She started enrolling me in art competitions to convince me I was that good.

ARTWOLFE: How did you feel about winning the prize for most promising young artist, and for best overall artwork?

Findano: I was completely flabbergasted.

ARTWOLFE: Since winning the Triennial prizes, have you been provided with any opportunities to exhibit or develop your work?

Findano: Nope

ARTWOLFE: What are your plans for making art in the future?

Findano: I plan on retiring young and working on my art full time in the future.

ARTWOLFE: Do you have any plans to study art in the future?

Findano: Yes

Congratulations Findano and thank you for your time and willingness to share!

_DSC6260 (800x509)

Findano Shikonda – Absent Fathers: Overall Best Artwork and Most Promising Young Artist

2 thoughts on “Interview with Findano Shikonda

  1. Pingback: VOL. #3, ISSUE #1: Editorial | ARTWOLFE

  2. ARTWOLFE: Since winning the Triennial prizes, have you been provided with any opportunities to exhibit or develop your work?

    Findano: Nope

    GASP! Sorry I nearly fell off my chair. lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

