Volume 1: September 2014

ISSUE #3: Two Winning Works from the Bank Windhoek Triennial

Hage Mukwendje is a 24 year old artist who graduated from the College of the Arts in Windhoek with a certificate in Graphic Design (New Media) from the Katatura Community Arts Centre (KCAC) in 2011. Mukwendje started making art at a young age doing murals and sign writing for his community. With the support of his family and the encouragement of his friends he moved to Windhoek to study art in 2008. He began his studies with a diploma in Product Development in the Deartment of Visual Art and Craft at the KCAC. Hage has participated in a number of group exhibitions and in 2012 participated in the World Event Young Artists (WEYA) in Nottingham, England.

“I treat art as my profession and my passion. I go to my studio and make art just like a doctor goes to work at the hospital and treats patients. I treat my artwork in this way so that I can do everything that I have been trained to do. I have to follow my instincts for visualizing life with a pen, pencil and a paper, but a lot goes through my mind: I think about how I can motivate people. I don’t want my art works to hang on someone’s wall just as a decoration. I want my artworks to serve also as a motivation for people, to heal, to give hope and to encourage people. If I have a topic in mind to paint, I do it in such a way that it serves two purposes: decoration and motivation. I represent human dignity, love, peace and unity to make a world a better place for everyone to live in.” (2014, personal correspondence)

_DSC6244 (554x800)

Title : Dr. Hage Geingob

Mixed media

Hage Mukwendje, 2014

Merit Award in the New Media category

Kirsten Wechslberger graduated from the University of Namibia in 2005 with a degree in Fine Art majoring in 2-dimensional studies. Since then she has worked in a wide variety of media, including performance, video and installation. Wechslberger has participated in a number of group exhibitions and produced work for many solo shows.

About her own work Wechslberger says:

“I use a range of mediums such as digital art, video installations, site-specific installations, paintings, performance art etc. to express the emotions, thoughts and patterns created through the relationship between the world and myself” (2012, VAN catalogue)

Wechslberger_Border

8 thoughts on “ISSUE #3: Two Winning Works from the Bank Windhoek Triennial

  1. Hello there,

    I am missing any form of critique and analysis on us winning artists…..would have been great to get the input of the judges to WHY some work was chosen above another…it will help us as artists improve/change/get over the selection easier/faster…..I don’t like the vacuum we exist in in Namibia. ;-/
    I would just like to know how much these judges actually know about video installations? How many installations are actually showing?
    regards
    Kirsten

    Like

    • Hi Kirsten

      We also don’t like the vacuum, that’s why we started this zine. Thank you for your contribution and for helping us fill this space. We can’t speak for NAGN, from what we saw on opening night there was one other video work. Installations did seem rather thin of the ground. NAGN has been encouraging artists to e-mail them for feed back. Perhaps you could contact them? Thanks for your comment, looking forward to hearing more from you!

      Like

  2. I didn’t expect much from the judges when I entered this competition. I think Kirsten’s abstract work is fine – intriguing and well-composed. But the other image shown is simply a cynical attempt to suck up to the next President and his cronies. No wonder a crude mosaic of computer keys got a prize; this is the kind of “artwork” I can do without, thanks. Could we see other (hopefully superior) images from the exhibition? I would hope for a higher standard next year, but I am not optimistic.

    Like

    • Hi Jude, thanks so much for your comment! We agree with your thoughts on the judging process and on the lack of accessibility of the Triennal works to Namibians not in Windhoek. These happen to be the two artworks, of the prize winners, that ARTWOLFE enjoyed the most. Regarding Hage’s, work it is important to note that it won a merit award (something like fourth prize). It is not the most conceptual work, but it is a portrait executed in a novel medium with skill. Unfortunately our zine is only 8 pages so we don’t have the space to feature other works. As much as we would like to, it’s not our job or within our capacity to put all the works on line. We do know however that NAGN is producing a catalogue, hopefully it will be online and accessible!
      Thanks again so much for your comment, we really appreciate your feedback.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hage Mukwendje’s portrait of his namesake has, in my opinion, been judged in the wrong category. This piece is an assemblage or collage on a 2D surface and new media art is widely accepted as “a genre that encompasses artworks created with new media technologies, including digital art, computer graphics, computer animation, virtual art, Internet art, interactive art, video games, computer robotics, and art as biotechnology,” wikipedia. I would assume that any public information sharing vehicle (specifically in a Namibian context) should have some educational function and value. It hurts us all, now and in the future to not have these basic mistakes corrected in the interests of elevating arts practice in Namibia.

    Like

    • Hi Jo, thanks for your comment. We think it’s really valuable… We’re collecting various public opinions of the Triennial for a future issue about the exhibition. Would you mind if we used a line or two from your comment? We would send anything to you before publication for your approvial, of course. If you would like to write more of your thoughts on the topic, please email us at thefuturewasgreat@gmail.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

